The Division of Industrial Relations today announced updates to Section 618 of the Nevada Administrative Code (NAC) related to occupational safety and health training requirements for workers in the convention services industry. The updated regulations provide guidance and details on the statutory requirements found in Nevada Revised Statute Sections 618.9920 – 618.9931.
During the 80th session of the Nevada Legislature, lawmakers adopted Senate Bill 119 which established requirements for certain workers and supervisors in the convention services industries to obtain training on relevant safety and health issues within 15 days of starting work in the industry. Workers who perform construction, installation, maintenance, operation, repair or removal of trade show or exhibition displays must be trained. The bill aligns with previously enacted rules mandating similar training requirements for workers in the construction and entertainment industries. All construction and general industry 10- and 30-hour training programs approved by the Nevada Occupational Safety and Health Administration will satisfy the training requirements for the convention services industry.
The intent of the training requirement is to provide workers who are regularly exposed to workplace safety and health hazards with basic information about how to identify and avoid injuries and illnesses commonly associated with their work. Convention services combine elements of construction and general industry work, making both construction and general industry training programs suitable to provide awareness level training to workers.
The statutory requirements mandating training for convention services workers became effective January 1, 2020. The newly adopted sections of the NAC became effective on January 21, 2021, following a series of public meetings and solicitation of public comment on the regulations. The updated regulations are available for review at http://dir.nv.gov/OSHA.
Training information, course registration for free state-sponsored training, and a list of approved private industry training providers can be found on the Division of Industrial Relations Safety Consultation and Training Section’s 10 and 30 Hour OSHA Training website- http://nv1030.org. Free training sessions provided by SCATS fill quickly and are offered based on space-limited availability requiring advanced registration.
About the Division of Industrial Relations:
The Nevada Division of Industrial Relations is the principal regulatory agency responsible for workplace safety and worker protections in the state of Nevada. Comprised of five sections – the Occupational Safety and Health Administration, the Worker’s Compensation Section, the Mechanical Compliance Section, the Mine Safety and Training Section, and the Safety Consultation and Training Section – DIR works to protect Nevada’s working men and women and provides a broad scope of training and support to the regulated community. For more information, please visit http://dir.nv.gov
About Nevada OSHA:
Nevada OSHA operates as an approved state program as defined by section 18 of the Occupational Safety and Health Act of 1970 and is required by the Act to operate in a manner that is at least as effective as the federal OSHA enforcement program. Operating out of district offices in Las Vegas and Reno, Nevada OSHA conducts inspections and investigations intended to identify hazardous conditions which could harm Nevada’s workers and enforces state and federal laws protecting the state’s workers. From July 2019 – June 2020, Nevada OSHA processed conducted 714 inspections, issuing an average of 1.6 violations per inspection. The Nevada State Plan, at the time of publication of this media release, is funded by a grant of $1,602,700 federal funds, which constitutes 50 percent of the State Plan budget. Fifty percent, or $1,602,700 of the State Plan budget, is financed through non-governmental sources. For more information visit http://dir.nv.gov/OSHA/