OSHA 30-hour Construction Training
The Occupational Safety and Health Administrations (OSHA) Outreach Training Program is a program to train workers in the basics of safety and health hazard recognition and prevention and has been in existence for over 35 years. This curriculum includes 30 hours of online or in-person classroom instruction developed by OSHA. This five-day course will provide training in OSHA’s Construction Standards, 29 CFR 1926. It is an expanded version of the ten-hour course. Attendees must attend all five days to receive the OSHA attendance card. SCATS offers this training online or in-person free of charge.
30-hour Construction Training FAQs
Does Nevada have a statute that requires employees engaged in construction work to have an OSHA 10 or 30 Hour Construction Card or similar program approved by its Division of Industrial Relations?
Yes. The measure was passed by the 2009 legislature. The law became effective January 1, 2010.
Does federal OSHA require 10 or 30 Hour Construction training?
No. This is a Nevada requirement.
Is there an expiration date for course completion cards in Nevada?
No, as of 10 June 2015, the 10 and 30 Hour OSHA Construction card does not expire for the purpose of working on a construction site in the state of Nevada.
Are there federal OSHA or Nevada guidelines for this program?
Yes, the latest version of “OSHA Training Program Requirements,” must be used. The guidelines have designated training topics (section V) for what must be covered in a 10 and 30-hour construction class. Nevada’s program will closely parallel the federal OSHA guidelines.
What work activities are covered by this statute?
The statute requires employees engaged in construction activities to receive OSHA 10 or 30 Hour Construction course completion cards or equivalent.
How does Nevada define a construction worker?
Construction worker means a person who actually performs physical work at a construction site that results in the construction, alteration or destruction involved in the construction project including without limitation painting and decorating; or who supervises any person engaged in that work.
The term does not include a person to the extent that the person performs or supervises another person who performs work which is conducted for the upkeep of an existing property for which a certificate of occupancy has been issued by the appropriate building inspector or other authority, and to prevent the property from degrading, to maintain the operational soundness of the property, including without limitation, by repairing the components of the property or by replacing components of the property with the same or similar components.
How do I register to attend an OSHA 10 or 30 Hour Construction class?
How long will it take to receive my OSHA 10 or 30 Hour Course Completion Card?
It normally takes 2-4 weeks for a trainer to receive student course completion cards from the appropriate OSHA Regional Training Center.
Can a student who has a 10 Hour Construction course completion card have it “upgraded” to an OSHA 30 Hour Construction card?
Yes; however, only under certain conditions. If a student trained in the 10 hour Construction course wants to take the 30 hour course at a later time, they must receive 20 more training hours and the earlier topics and the new topics combined satisfy the curriculum requirements of the 30 hour course.
The limitations are as follows: the same trainer must have done all of the training (the first 10 hours and the next 20 hours); all of the training must be completed, from start to finish, within six months; and the original 10 hour course completion cards must be returned to the OSHA Regional Training Center to receive the 30 hour cards.
OSHA 30-HOUR CLASSES AND MORE
You can search for and register for both 10 and 30-hour OSHA construction training classes here on the SCATS website. We also have a separate site dedicated to OSHA 10 and 30-hour training where you can view trainers, register to be a trainer, verify a cardholder, and more.