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Senate Bill 119 
10/30 Hr. OSHA Course – Convention Shows 

Effective January 1, 2020 certain employees performing work at sites where 
exhibitions, conventions or trade shows occur will be required to receive certain 
safety training. (The following is a summary of the new statute. For the complete requirements visit 
the Nevada Electronic Legislative Information System (NELIS) and select SB119 or the Nevada Revised 
Statutes (NRS) 618 when revised) 

 

What is the requirement? 

Not later than 15 days after the date a worker 
other than a supervisory employee is hired, the 
worker must obtain a completion card for an 
OSHA-10 course which is issued upon 
completion of a course approved by the Division. 

Not later than 15 days after the date a supervisory 
employee is hired, the supervisory employee 
must obtain a completion card for an OSHA-30 
course which is issued upon completion of a 
course approved by the Division. 

The completion card expires 5 years after the 
date it was issued and must be renewed. 

Who is covered by this bill? 
“Worker” means a person whose primary 
occupation is to perform convention service work at 
a site. The term does not include a person whose 
primary occupation is to: 

• Perform catering,  

• Perform janitorial services. 

• Perform photography. 

• Provide security. 

• Provide, maintain or arrange floral 
decoration or displays. 

“Convention services work” includes, without 
limitations: 

• Constructing, installing, maintaining, 
operating or removing trade show or 
exhibition displays. 

•  

• Loading or unloading equipment and 
materials. 

• Erecting or dismantling booths and structures 

• Rigging display areas 

• Installing temporary electrical power for use 
in display area 

“Supervisory employee” means any person 
having authority in the interest of the employer 
to hire, transfer, suspend, lay off, recall, 
promote, discharge, assign, reward or 
discipline other employees or responsibility to 
direct them, to adjust their grievances or 
effectively to recommend such action, if in 
connection with the foregoing, the exercise of 
such authority is not of a merely routine or 
clerical nature but requires the use of 
independent judgment. The exercise of such 
authority shall not be deemed to place the 
employee in supervisory employee status 
unless the exercise of such authority occupies 
a significant portion of the employee’s workday. 

What training is required? 
“OSHA-10 course” means a 10-hour course in 
construction industry or general industry safety 
and health hazard recognition and prevention 
developed by the Occupational Safety and Health 
Administration (OSHA) of the United States 
Department of Labor. 

“OSHA-30 course” means a 30-hour course in 
construction industry or general industry safety 
and health hazard recognition and prevention 
developed by the Occupational Safety and Health 
Administration (OSHA) of the United States 
Department of Labor. 

 
 



 

Is there other training that is approved? 
 

Workers may take an OSHA-10 alternative 
course and supervisory employees may take 
an OSHA-30 alternative course.  
 

An “OSHA-10 alternative course” means a 10-
hour course offered to the employees of an 
employer that meets or exceeds the guidelines 
issued by the Occupational Safety and Health 
Administration of the United Sates Department 
of Labor for an OSHA-10 course, including, 
without limitation, federal safety and health 
regulatory requirements specific to the industry 
in which the employer participates.  
 

An “OSHA-30 alternative course” means a 30-
hour course offered to the employees of an 
employer that meets or exceeds the guidelines 
issued by the Occupational Safety and Health 
Administration of the United Sates Department 
of Labor for an OSHA-10 course, including, 
without limitation, federal safety and health 
regulatory requirements specific to the industry 
in which the employer participates. 
 
Effective January 1, 2021 OSHA-10 alternative 
courses and OSHA-30 alternative course will 
no longer be accepted to meet this 
requirement. 

Is the training mandatory? 

 
Yes. If the worker other than a supervisory 

employee fails to  

• Present his or her employer with a 
current and valid completion card for an 
OSHA-10 course; or 

• Complete an OSHA-10 alternative 
course offered by his or her employer, 

 

 

not later than 15 days after being hired, the 
employer shall suspend or terminate his or 
her employment. 

 
If a supervisory employee fails to  

• Present his or her employer with a 
current and valid completion card for an 
OSHA-30 course; or 

• Complete an OSHA-30 alternative 
course offered by his or her employer, 

not later than 15 days after being hired, the 
employer shall suspend or terminate his or her 
employment.  

If NV OSHA finds that an employer failed to 
suspend or terminate an employee who has 
failed to obtain a completion card the employer 
will be subject to a fine:  

• Upon the first violation, an 
administrative fine of not more 
than $500; 

• Upon the second violation, an 
administrative fine of $1,000. 

• Upon the third and each 
subsequent violation NV OSHA 
will impose upon the employer the 
penalty provided in NRS 618.635 
as if the employer had committed 
a willful violation. 

 

Where can I obtain this training? 
 
The Safety Consultation and Training 
Section (SCATS) periodically provides 
OSHA-10 and OSHA-30 courses at no 
cost to employees.  To check for class 
dates or to register for a class visit the 
SCATS website at – 4safenv.state.nv.us. 
Also available on the website is a list of 
other providers of this training.

 
 

Safety Consultation &Training Section -Your Partner for a Safer Nevada 
www.4safenv.state.nv.us 

 
 

3360 W. Sahara Ave, Suite 100 
Las Vegas, NV 89102 

(702) 486-9140  FAX: (702) 486-8711 
tschultz@business.nv.gov 

 

 
4600 Kietzke Lane, Suite E-144 

Reno, Nevada 89502 
(775) 688-3730  FAX: (775) 688-1478 

agiddings@business.nv.gov 

 
350 W. Silver Street, Suite 210 

Elko, Nevada 89801 
(775) 778-3312  FAX: (775) 778-3412 

dcarroll@business.nv.gov 
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