New Walking-Working Surfaces (Subpart D) Standard Updates: When can Alternating Tread-Type, Spiral or Ship Stairs be used?January 29, 2018
The new Subpart D standard defines when Alternating Tread-Type, Spiral or Ship Stairs can be used in the workplace in 29 CFR 1910.25 (b) (8): “Spiral, ship or alternating tread-type stairs are used only when the employer can demonstrate that it is not feasible to provide standard stairs”. If a spiral, ship or alternating tread-type stairs is allowed by this section, they must be installed, used and maintained in accordance with manufacturer’s instructions (29 CFR 2910.25 (b)(9).
Employers can now begin to electronically report their Calendar Year (CY) 2017 Form 300A data to OSHA. All covered establishments must submit the information by July 1, 2018. Employers can view their submitted CY 2016 Form 300A summary information, but they cannot edit or submit additional 2016 data on this website. Remember, not all establishments are covered by this requirement. To review which establishments need to provide their 2017 data, see OSHA's website.
The new walking-working surfaces rule became effective on Jan. 17, 2017 with only a few provisions of the rule with delayed effective dates. The full rule can be found at https://www.osha.gov/walking-working-surfaces/RegTextWWSFinalRule.pdf.
The Division of Industrial Relations, Department of Business and Industry, State of Nevada, ("Division"), will conduct a public workshop on proposed permanent regulations necessary to implement Assembly Bill 190, chapter 105, Statutes of Nevada 2017, at page 467. The workshop will be conducted by video conference on Monday, January 22, 2018, at 1:00 p.m. at the following locations:
SCATS to offer free 10-Hour and 30-Hour OSHA Safety and Health Courses for the Entertainment IndustryNovember 29, 2017
SCATS announced the addition of the mandatory Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) 10-Hour and 30-Hour Safety and Health Courses for the Entertainment Industry to its long list of free health and occupational safety training classes. Beginning Jan. 1, 2018, specific workers in the entertainment industry will need to complete an OSHA 10-hour (non-supervisory employee) or an OSHA 30-hour (supervisory employee) safety and health general industry course and receive a completion card within 15 days of hire.
The Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) recently published a final rule (29 CFR 1904.35) revising its recordkeeping and reporting regulation to specifically state that employer policies for reporting workplace injuries and illnesses must be reasonable. Under the rule, procedures that deter or discourage employee reporting are not reasonable.
The Governor of Nevada recently signed Assembly Bill 190 requiring OSHA 10- and 30-hour training for the Entertainment Industry.
Starting January 1, 2018, the State of Nevada will require specific workers in the entertainment industry to complete an OSHA 10 hour (non-supervisory employee) or an OSHA 30 hour (supervisory employee) safety and health general industry course and receive a completion card within 15 days of hire.
The specific workers are ones whose primary occupation on site falls into one of these categories:
Working with industry and labor, OSHA created the Voluntary Protection Program (VPP) in 1982 to recognize and partner with worksites that implement exemplary systems to manage worker safety and health. The managers, employees, and any authorized representatives at these sites voluntarily implement comprehensive safety and health programs – referred to as safety and health management systems – that go beyond basic compliance with OSHA standards.
The rule requires certain employers to electronically submit injury and illness data that they are already required to record on their onsite OSHA Injury and Illness forms. Analysis of this data will enable OSHA to use its enforcement and compliance assistance resources more efficiently.