SCATS is offering free online training and technical assistance.
New Nevada OSHA Penalty Structure Begins October 1, 2019
Nevada Senate Bill 40 passed this year and on October 1, 2019, a new penalty structure goes into effect for citations issued by Nevada OSHA. Employers who receive a citation from Nevada OSHA after October 1, 2019 will see a 78% increase in fines and the bill also includes an annual cost of living increase in the structure.
Penalties for Serious, Other-Than-Serious, Posting Requirements, and Nevada Regulatory Violations increase from $7,000.00 per violation to $13,260.00 per violation. A Failure to Correct violation increases from $7,000.00 per day beyond the abatement date to $13,260.00 per day beyond the abatement date. And a Willful or Repeated violation will change from $70,000.00 per violation to $132,598.00 per violation. All increases to these penalty amounts begin on October 1, 2019.
The Nevada Safety Consultation and Training Section (SCATS) is here to help you understand this new law and we offer free onsite safety consultations to help you identify and prevent health and safety violations at your workplace or worksite. Our staff of professionally trained safety and health consultants are available to offer free assistance to any employer that request our services. Our confidential consultation services take place on-site and include a thorough review of your safety and health programs.
SCATS’ safety and health consultation program is completely separate from the Nevada OSHA inspection effort. In addition, no citations are issued, or penalties proposed. We are here to help you identify and correct potential OSHA violations before they happen. Request your free and confidential safety consultation on our website.
Please download our factsheet for more information.