SCATS is offering free online training and technical assistance.
Nevada Legislature and OSHA Reporting and Training Requirement Updates
OSHA "300 A" Electronic Reporting Update
OSHA is not accepting electronic submissions of injury and illness logs at this time, and intends to propose extending the July 1, 2017 date by which certain employers are required to submit the information from their completed 2016 Form 300A electronically. Updates will be posted to OSHA.gov when they are available.
Refer to OSHA.gov for further updates.
New Reporting Requirements
The Governor of Nevada recently signed Assembly Bill 54 changing the employer injury and illness reporting requirements in the State of Nevada effective 1 Oct. 2017. This will bring Nevada injury and illness requirements in line with the federal reporting requirements that changed several years ago.
The new requirements are:
- Any accident or motor vehicle crash occurring in the course of employment which is fatal to one or more employees must be reported to NV OSHA orally within 8 hours.
- Any accident or motor vehicle crash occurring in the course of employment which results in the inpatient hospitalization of one or more employees, the amputation of a part of an employee’s body or an employee’s loss of an eye must be reported to NV OSHA orally within 24 hours.
The report to NV OSHA must contain the following information:
- The name of the employer
- The location and time of the accident or crash
- The number of employees hospitalized as inpatients or who suffered fatalities, amputations or loss of an eye as a result of an accident or vehicle crash
- The names of the employees who were hospitalized as inpatients or who suffered fatalities, amputations or loss of an eye as a result of an accident or vehicle crash
- A brief description of the accident or crash
- The name of the person who may be contacted by NV OSHA for further information
To contact NV OSHA, call (702) 486-9020 for the Las Vegas Office or (775) 688-3700 for the Reno Office.
Mandatory 10/30 Hour Safety and Health Course for the Entertainment Industry (AB190)
The Governor of Nevada recently signed Assembly Bill 190 requiring OSHA 10 and 30 hour training for the Entertainment Industry.
Starting January 1, 2018 the State of Nevada will require specific workers in the entertainment industry to complete an OSHA 10 hour (non-supervisory employee) or an OSHA 30 hour (supervisory employee) safety and health general industry course and receive a completion card within 15 days of hire.
The specific workers are ones whose primary occupation on site falls into one of these categories:
- Theatrical scenery, rigging or props
- Wardrobe, hair or makeup
- Audio, camera, projection, video or lighting equipment
Any other items or parts which are related to or components of the items described in 1, 2 or 3 and which are used for on in conjunction with the presentation or production of:
- Live entertainment
- Filmmaking or photography, including without limitation, motion pictures
- Television programs, including, without limitation, live broadcasts, closed-circuit broadcasts or videotape recordings and playback
- Sporting Events
- Theatrical performances
This requirement will not apply to volunteers or any other persons who are not paid to perform work on a site.
“Site” is defined as a theater where live entertainment is performed, a sound stage, a showroom, a lounge, an arena or a remote site which has been designated as a location for the production of a motion picture or television program.
“OSHA 10 or 30-hour course” is a course of general industry safety and health hazard recognition and prevention developed by the Occupational Safety and Health Administration of the United States Department of Labor.
“Trainer” of the OSHA 10 or 30 hour course means a person who is currently authorized by OSHA as a trainer, including, without limitation, a person who has completed the OSHA 501, the trainer course in OSHA Standards for General Industry and has been issued an OSHA trainer card.
The Safety Consultation and Training Section (SCATS) provides 10 and 30 hour General Industry and Construction classes. There is a $8.00 OSHA card processing fee per participant. For a schedule of classes or to sign-up, go to www.4safenv.state.nv.us or call 877.472.3368.