March 19, 2020
Please review the important memorandum available below that provides guidelines for the management of staff and labor in the mining, construction, and manufacturing industry sectors. This memorandum supports and enhances Governor Steve Sisolak’s March 18, 2020 document titled, “Nevada Health Response COVID-19 Risk Mitigation Initiative.”
March 11, 2020
The Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) has released guidance, recommendations, and descriptions of mandatory safety and health standards regarding workplace preparation for COVID-19. Please download and review the details via the link below.
March 4, 2020
The Safety Consultation and Training Section (SCATS) of the State of Nevada’s Division of Industrial Relations recently recognized the Las Vegas-based general contractor and subcontracting company, Austin General Contracting (AGC), for receiving the Safe Partner Award. The Safe Partner Award is awarded to organizations that use the full-service consultation and training services provided by SCATS. The Safe Partner Award is designed to increase safety awareness and strengthen the safety culture within the workplace.
January 28, 2020
Employers in Nevada whose industries require employees to hold a valid OSHA construction or general industry card now have a new way to verify employee’s OSHA cards. Per new regulations outlined in Assembly Bill 290, the State of Nevada’s Division of Industrial Relations and the Nevada Safety Consultation and Training Section (SCATS) have implemented updates to NV1030.org that allow employers to verify OSHA 10-hour and 30-hour Construction and General Industry card holders for OSHA cards issued in Nevada after January 1, 2020.
January 23, 2020
Recent news stories have highlighted the evolving coronavirus outbreak first identified in Wuhan City, Hubei Province, China. While there is currently no evidence of ongoing transmission of this virus in the United States, now is a good opportunity for workers and employers to review relevant workplace health guidance. OSHA has interim guidance and resources one their website here:
September 24, 2019
Nevada Senate Bill 40 passed this year and on October 1, 2019, a new penalty structure goes into effect for citations issued by Nevada OSHA. Employers who receive a citation from Nevada OSHA after October 1, 2019 will see a 78% increase in fines and the bill also includes an annual cost of living increase in the structure.
September 18, 2019
This past legislative session, Senate Bill 119 passed and includes changes to 10-hour and 30-hour course training requirements for certain employees performing work at sites where exhibitions, conventions or trade shows occur in Nevada. The new requirements will start as of January 1, 2020. To help you better understand these changes we have created a Factsheet on Senate Bill 119 and the upcoming changes regarding 10-hour and 30-hour OSHA courses requirements for Convention Shows and workers.
September 12, 2019
Effective July 1, 2020 certain medical facilities will have to develop and carry out a plan for the prevention of workplace violence and report incidents of workplace violence to Nevada OSHA. In addition to a written plan, certain medical facilities will be required to make physical modifications to areas that house potentially violent patients and conduct workplace violence training for affected employees.
September 4, 2019
The Safety Consultation and Training Section recently recognized the Reno-based mechanical contractor, (RHP) Ray Heating Products, Inc. (dba RHP Mechanical Systems), for successful renewal of the Safety and Health Achievement Recognition Program (SHARP). RHP Mechanical Systems has received the SHARP award for the past five years for excellence in workplace health and safety.